From the Desk of President Fort Worth PMI, Rahila Vayani       



Join Fort Worth PMI, Become Part of Something Great!


Dear Members and Volunteers,


If you have heard my first episode of PM Coffee talk, you would know Volunteers are near and dear to my heart. In this address I want to share a bit of PMI history, how volunteerism is a strategic goal for Fort Worth PMI chapter and share feedback from one of our past volunteers. As you read this, I encourage you to motivate your circle of influence to become part of something great which is Fort Worth PMI!

So let us start with a bit of history, PMI is, was, and always will be about volunteers.  Founded in 1969 by five volunteers who sought to standardize and promote the project management profession, PMI’s volunteer force, greater than 10,000 strong, is larger than many other professional membership associations.  Volunteerism is so important to PMI that it is a Core Value of the organization.  When you volunteer, you not only enrich your membership experience and earn PDUs, you expand your professional network, improve your knowledge, and hone your leadership skills.

Volunteerism is also a strategic goal for the Fort Worth Chapter.  The goal intends to strengthen the execution of the existing volunteer model to provide mutual benefit to both members and the chapter. Go to and become part of something great.

Recently I had the opportunity to hear from our past volunteer Samantha Cowan– here is the feedback she gave me, and I want to share it here so it can help others,

“I am a person who is all in so when I joined PMI Fort Worth right away, I wanted to get involved. OI enjoyed volunteering with the organization as it gave me opportunities to learn to serve and to grow professionally. In fact, I was part of the mentorship program in 2022 when it just started and because of this mentorship with Fort Worth PMI, I have my present job that has significantly improved the trajectory of my career. The only reason I left FWPI is due to my relocation from Texas to California. I would encourage everyone who decides to become a member of the chapter to volunteer. It is a fulfilling and beneficial experience.”

So, join FWPMI and volunteer. I encourage you to go and our and sign up for events or volunteering. Again, feel free to email me at with your questions and feedback!


Please feel free to email me at with your questions and feedback!

Thank you!

Rahila Vayani


President Fort Worth PMI 2021-2022